.header-content { padding: 10px 10px 1px; } ***
Latest Articles
Home / Chakra / 1st Chakra-Root or Muldhara Chakra

1st Chakra-Root or Muldhara Chakra

Root or Muldhara Chakra

Root Chakra  1st Chakra-Root or Muldhara Chakra 1st Chakra-Root or Muldhara Chakra chakrasThe root chakra is located at the base of the spine where the snake, the kundalini, is coiled three and one half times when at rest. This is the chakra of manifestation and is associated with grounding, survival and beginnings.
According to Dr. Hiroshi Motoyama in Theories of the Chakras, when the root chakra is in the process of awakening, the area around the navel feels filled with energy and there can be a sensation of tremendous heat. When meditating on this chakra, often a disc of vaircolored light (red, blue and gold) is seen in the abdomen or at the third eye level. Additionally, you may experience enriched emotions, increased sensitivity, be more emphatic and better able to control your emotions.

Root Chakra Symbols, Sounds, and Associations

Lotus Symbols: There are four red petals, a yellow square, a downward pointing triangle, the Shiva lingam, the Kundalini coiled three and one half times (not shown), the white elephant, and eight outward pointing arrows. Above the bija or seed symbol are the Child Brahma and the Shakti Dakini.

  • Sanskrit Name and Meaning: Muldhara – root support
    Location: base of spine, pelvic plexus-region between anus and genitals
    Element: Earth
  • Parts of the Body: adrenal glands, legs, feet, bones, large intestine, teeth
  • Malfunction: weight problems, hemorrhoids, degenerative arthritis, knee troubles, sciatica
  • Bija Sound: Lang
  • Petal Sounds: Vang, Shang, Kshang, Sang
  • Animals: Elephant, ox, bull
  • Yoga Path: Hatha yoga
  • Incense: cedar
  • Minerals: ruby, bloodstone, garnet

Deities: Brahma, Dakini, Ganesha, Kubera, Uma, Lakshmi, Prisni, Gaia, Persephone, Erda, Ereshkigal, Anat, Ceridwen, Geb, Hades, Pwyll, Dumuzi, Tammuz, Atlas.